Do you need further information? Please contact us.

Klaus Mecherlein M.A.

089 / 315 81 - 161

Shortlist for euward8 announced

16 artists from 9 countries with cognitive impairments are nominated

(July 30, 2020)

The shortlist for euward, the Award for Painting and Graphic Arts in the Context of Mental Disability, by the Munich-based Augustinum Foundation has been announced. On July 25, the euward Committee nominated 16 artists from 9 countries. Until July 22, artists could submit artworks for the renowned art award. In total, 341 artists applied for this year’s euward.

Nominated for euward8 are (in alphabetical order):

  • Aljoscha, Dusseldorf, Germany
  • Matthew Beadon, Darlington, (Community Art Project Darlington), England, GB
  • Rudolf Bodmeier, Unterschleißheim (Atelier Augustinum), Germany
  • Felix Brenner, Altnau, Switzerland
  • Torsten Holzapfel, Berlin, (Thikwa Werkstatt für Theater und Kunst), Germany
  • Elizaveta Khudyakova, Efremov, Russia
  • Tongtad Mahasuwan, Hamburg, (Die Schlumper), Germany
  • Andreas Maus, Cologne, (Kunsthaus Kat 18), Germany
  • Cameron Morgan, Glasgow, (Project Ability), Scotland, GB
  • Kar Hang Mui, Goes, (Galerie Atelier de Kaai), Netherlands
  • Daniel Nesensohn, Rankweil, (ARTelier Vorderland), Austria
  • Stefan Riedmann, Lustenau, (ARTelier der Lebenshilfe Lustenau), Austria
  • Jens Rosenkilde, Randers, (Gaia Akademi / Gaia Museum), Denmark
  • Martin Schindler, Vienna, (Caritas der Erzdiözese Wien TS Rannersdorf), Austria
  • Alexandre Vigneron, Vielsalm, (La „S“ Grand Atelier), Belgium
  • Raphael Waldis, Zurich, (TOBIAS-HAUS Sozialtherapeutische Werkstätten), Switzerland

 The Augustinum Foundation has awarded the euward since 2000. This distinction is the most important award internationally for art in the context of mental disability. In 2020 it will be awarded for the 8th time. In September, a Jury will decide who the prize winners will be. They receive an exhibition of their works in Haus der Kunst, Munich. They are also supported with cash prizes and a catalogue of their works, totalling about 19,000 Euros in value. The prize will be awarded at an exhibition opening ceremony in April 2021 at Haus der Kunst in Munich. From September on until the beginning of the euward-Exhibition, Haus der Kunst showcases the euward archive.

The nomination for the shortlist was decided on by the Committee.  They hold active, responsible positions in cultural life. This year’s committee consists of: Dr. Monika Jagfeld (Director, Museum im Lagerhaus, Stiftung für schweizerische Naive Kunst und Art Brut, St. Gallen, Switzerland), Sabine Brantl (Curator, Haus der Kunst, Munich), Prof. Dr. Carla Schulz-Hoffmann (Deputy Director General (ret.) Bavarian State Collections, Munich), Dr. Manja Wilkens (Curator, Dusseldorf), PD Dr. Thomas Röske (Director, Prinzhorn Collection, Heidelberg), Dr. Peter Assman (Director, Tiroler Landesmuseum, Innsbruck), Prof. Dr. Hans Körner (Professor of art history, retired, Heinrich-Heine-University, Dusseldorf).

Download press release (PDF)