Do you need further information? Please contact us.

Klaus Mecherlein M.A.

089 / 315 81 - 161

Results of the preliminary judging, press invitation to the announcement of the award winners

euward9 – The European Art Award
The Art Award for Painting and Graphic Arts in the Context of Mental Disability by Augustinum Stiftung

  • over 240 applications from 25 countries for euward9
  • 19 candidates nominated for the shortlist
  • 16.09.2023 Press event for the jury meeting and announcement of the three award winners

The Art Award euward

Since 2000, art created in the context of mental disability has a renowned forum in the form of the euward, which recognizes its special qualities and acknowledges them as an expression of a unique approach to the world and its perception. The euward always honors the complete work of an artist. It is the only Europe-wide award for contemporary artists with mental disability and enjoys worldwide recognition as an art prize. The euward is supported by international museums and cultural institutions, for example from Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Russia, Sweden, and Switzerland. The sponsors of euward9 are the Edith-Haberland-Wagner Stiftung and the Louisoder und Pfefferkorn Stiftung.

With over 240 submissions from 25 European countries, the euward9 call for entries was a great success, to which not only the high profile of the art award but also the open, explicitly low-threshold application procedure contributed.

The three winners of euward9 will be selected in a two-stage judging process, beginning with the selection of the shortlist by a Board of Trustees on 3 June 2023 and followed by a jury meeting on 16 September 2023. They will then be published (first without any ranking). From 17 May to 14 July 2024, the three award winners will be honored with a monographic exhibition at Haus der Kunst, Munich, and supported with prize money and a catalogue of their works with a total value of around 25,000 euros. At the vernissage and award ceremony on 16 May 2024 at Haus der Kunst, the ranking, places 1–3, of the award winners will be announced.

You are cordially invited to the announcement of the winners of euward9:

Saturday, 16.09.2023, 3:30 pm

Press event announcement of the three award winners in the presence of the jury

Institut für Kunstpädagogik, LMU München, Lesehalle, Leopoldstraße 13, 80802 Munich, Germany

We would be happy to coordinate interviews with Klaus Mecherlein, the curator of the euward, or with the jury members. Please do let us know.

Save-the-date: Thursday, 16.05.2024, 6 pm
Vernissage and award ceremony with ranking, places 1–3, in the presence of the artists
at Haus der Kunst, Prinzregentenstraße 1, 80538 Munich, Germany

Information will follow at the end of 2023 and at

Jury meeting on 16 September 2023

The euward jury is international in character with recognized experts from five different countries:

  • Ivana Basicevic Antic, Director of the Museum of Naive and Marginal Art / Jagodina (SRB)
  • Christian Berst, gallery owner, curator, author / Paris (FR)
  • Dr. Carine Fol, Artistic Director, CENTRALE for contemporary art / Brüssel (B)
  • Dr. Monika Jagfeld, Director, open art museum - zentrum für outsider kunst / St. Gallen (CH)
  • Prof. Colin D. Rhodes, Hunan Normal University, curator, author / Silverstone (UK) 

Shortlist euward9

The 19 nominated artists from six countries, selected on 3 June 2023 from over 240 high quality applications, are:

  • Samaneh Atef (*1989), Lyon, FR
  • Rudolf Bodmeier (*1961), Unterschleißheim, DE
  • Markus Buchser (*1959), Basel, CH
  • Sven Freundt (*1975), Hamburg, DE
  • Hannes Gaensslen (*1967), Unterschleißheim, DE
  • Wulf Golz (*1960), Mülheim an der Ruhr, DE
  • Torsten Holzapfel (*1965), Berlin, DE
  • Enes Icer (*1992), Berlin, DE
  • Sandrine Mbala (*2001), Zurich, CH
  • Sabine Münch (*1963), Oberschleißheim, DE
  • Jeroen Pomp (*1985), Rotterdam, NL
  • Belén Sánchez (*1972), Madrid, ESP
  • Paul Kai Schröder (*1993), Hamburg, DE
  • Patrick Siegl (*1991), Gauting, DE
  • Desmond Tjonakoy (*1993), Amsterdam, NL
  • Jakob Ujvari (*2000), Munich, DE
  • Rolf Waldvogel (*1950), Leonberg, DE
  • Christian Wollert (*1987), Berlin, DE
  • Magdalena Zehetner (*1992), Linz, AT

This shortlist was selected by a high profile and inclusive Board of Trustees:

• Christian Berst, gallery owner, curator, author / Paris (FR)

• Sabine Brantl, Curator, Head of Archive, Haus der Kunst / Munich (DE)

• Dr. Monika Jagfeld, Director, open art museum - zentrum für outsider kunst / St. Gallen (CH)

• Dr. Elena Sorokina, curator / Paris (FR)

• Dr. Stephanie Weber, Curator of Contemporary Art, Lenbachhaus München / Munich (DE)

• Matti Wustmann, illustrator and animator, sieben/barner16 / Hamburg (DE)

Press contact

Nickl PR, Goethestraße 25a, 80336 Munich, Germany

Mrs Simone Nickl,, +49 89 4807103

Download Press Release (PDF)

Download short biographies of nominees (PDF)